Executive Committee


Kristy Brugar, Ph.D.


Kristy Brugar, the OKCHE's President for 2019-2020. I am an Associate Professor of Social Studies Education in the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education at the University of Oklahoma. Previously, I was an assistant professor at Wayne State University in Detroit, MI and a middle school social studies teacher in Maryland and Michigan. My research interests include social studies and history education, interdisciplinary instruction involving social studies, literacy, and visual arts, and teacher development.


Nancy Brewer, M.A.


Nancy J. Brewer, the OKCHE’s President-Elect for 2019-2020. I graduated from the University of Central Oklahoma with both my Bachelors and Masters in History; as well as being a National Board Certified Teacher. I have taught at Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School for 19 years, teaching 8th grade U.S. History and Government. Recently I was appointed by Governor Stitt to serve a three-year term on the Oklahoma State Textbook Committee. Additionally, I am the Teacher-in-Residence at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum this summer. I have a deep passion for U.S. History, Native American Studies, and the history of our great state, Oklahoma.


Screen Shot 2019-07-30 at 11.58.47 PM.png

Patti Harrold, NBCT


Patti Harrold, the OKCHE’s Treasurer for 2019-2020.  I am the Instructional Coach at Harding Fine Arts Academy, a College Board consultant, and an AP Reader for European History. Before my recent retirement I taught for 42 years, primarily AP histories at Edmond Memorial High School, and worked for College Board where I oversaw instructional design for AP European, AP World, and AP US histories, and was the Lead for AP Art History.  In 2004 I received the National Secondary Teacher of the Year Award from the National Council for the Social Studies. After having been a member of NCHE since 1996, in 2004 I founded OKCHE to provide support for history teachers across Oklahoma.


Board Members

  • Lyndal Caddell, M.S.S. - Noble Public Schools

  • Eric Harp, B.S. - Edmond Public Schools

  • Justin Quin Olmstead, Ph.D. - University of Central Oklahoma

  • Melinda Parks, M.A. , NBCT - Moore Public Schools

  • Denise Rhodes, M.A. - Quapaw Public Schools

  • Dalton Savage, B.A. - Edmond Public Schools

  • Tricia Strouhal, B.S. - Moore Public Schools